Something Inside So Strong

Hi everyone.

Just a quick update for you.

I’m typing this up on Saturday morning which means that 4 weeks tomorrow the day of the triathlon and the culmination of our training and fundraising will have arrived. That’s a bit of a scary thought. When I start these fundraising efforts of mine I tend to sign up for the event months and months in advance and then get spooked when,all of a sudden, I realise  that the day is almost upon me. This is no different! 4 weeks to get my training done, 4 weeks to decide which of the various styles of breaststroke that I have attempted suits me best, 4 weeks to get the t shirts printed with a team photo, 4 weeks to panic basically. Bring it on I say. I know I can do this, I know our team can do this and I’m excited to prove that I’m true to my word and will give this the best shot that I can.

However…..always a however……despite my best efforts I have not increased my swim sessions. It’s been difficult to fit everything in to be honest. That must and will change. I did go for my usual Wednesday night splash about where I tried to swim more under the water and where I practised gliding through my breaststroke. I swam another 30 lengths but didn’t push myself to go as fast as possible. As usual, it’s more important to me to do the lengths I need to do and take as long as it takes rather than try to go too quickly, get tired and not finish. Tortoise and the hair and a bit of the Taurean stubborn streak I think.


I have had more positive responses to my request for raffle prizes and I’m thrilled about that. I am not sure if I am going to be organised enough to have finalised the draw to coincide with the triathlon as I had expected to but I promise that I will get on top of it and get a plan in place as soon as I can. When I have organised it properly I will be shouting about it from the rooftops so that everyone has a chance to take part. Of course, all funds raised will go the SCBU at Royal Surrey County Hospital just like the triathlon fundraising total.

I hope that I will be able to update you with a team photo in the next blog. On Monday our cyclist, our runner and I will be in the same place at the same time so it will be an ideal opportunity to take a photo or two. There is an outside chance that the babies and their Mum and Dad will be there too and if I can get a photo with us and Phoebe and Sam all together that would be fab. Fingers crossed.

I can’t go into much detail about what is currently happening with the twins and their Mum and Dad. All you need to know is that it’s been a very difficult, very worrying week. Phoebe and Mummy are both poorly. Everyone is exhausted and the reality of just how difficult  life can be sometimes seems to have hit home. We are all doing everything we can to support the family until they are back on an even keel again but these things take time. One thing is for sure, my daughter is strong and so is Phoebe. Kirsty has proved that over and over again throughout her life and I have no reason to doubt that she will come back fighting again once she is rested and has her confidence back. Pheobe is her mothers daughter. That little poppet has already shown us her strength and resilience in the 3 months that she and Sam have been with us. Stay strong little one. Stay strong Mummy. We all love you more than you know.



Love Nanny xxxx

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/phoebeandsam

Leave a comment