We Will Do This…

So it’s silly o’clock and I have been awake for ages. I woke with an ache in my back – nothing awful, just discomfort. That back ache has joined the discomfort that I am feeling in my left knee since Zumba last week and my cycle ride yesterday. These few aches have already started to make me doubt my ability to complete this challenge.

I was told several years ago that I should not run anymore due to arthritis in my knee. I have stuck to the advice I was given until the last few weeks and my main exercise until then has been lots of walking. It appears that ramping up the exercise has set things off again.

I have seriously been reconsidering my decision to attempt the triathlon, so much so that I have spoken to family about splitting the event and doing it as a team which is a legitimate option. If we did that, three of us could take a section each and we could complete it that way. It does seem the sensible option but I do feel that it would not be the challenge that I have set myself up for.

I have spoken to my son who is also taking part in the event and he has advised that we do our planned 5km run this Sunday and see how we all feel after that. I think he is probably right. I do tend to get fed up when my challenges and training don’t go to plan and then I get mopey and feel sorry for myself. That is not what is needed right now.

Yesterday I went with friends to visit my daughter and the twins. Both babies were looking calm and relaxed in their Moses baskets and my daughter was busying herself with sterilising and preparing bottles for the coming day. We all had cuddles with the babies and chatted with my daughter who is putting on a brave face for everyone but who is exhausted, worried and tearful and who can blame her? The reality of this new life of theirs must seem, and feel,completely overwhelming. I know personally how it feels to have one baby with extra needs to look after and my daughter has two babies at the same time, one with extra needs and one who doesn’t appear to need anything extra at the moment. I spent most of my time with my young baby being terrified – for my baby, for our futures, for our family. I can only imagine what must be going through my daughter’s mind.

As the Mum of my daughter and as Nanny to those beautiful, treasured babies it is my duty to support the whole family as much as I can and that is what I intend to do for as long as I need to. I intend doing everything I can to help them through the difficult next few months, do whatever I can to make things easier. My daughter is fiercely independent and this is what has got her as far as she has in this life. She has achieved so much and has brightened the lives of many people. She will continue to do so and I just know that the babies will do exactly the same.

That is why, whatever  decision is made about the triathlon, you can rest assured that every ounce of effort will have been put in and no decisions will be taken lightly. We want to do our very best for my daughter, her husband and their babies. We want to make them proud….as proud as they make us every single day.

Love Nanny (and Mum😉) 💙💗💕
  

Leave a comment